Jewish Holidays

Congregation Ahavath Sholom provides a complete schedule of all holiday observances, including a variety of services for the High Holy Days to meet the needs of all our congregants. If services cannot be held in person, they are available via video online.

2020 High Holy Day service information

2020 holiday dates:
Shavuot — Friday, May 29 & Saturday, May 30
Tish'a B'Av — Thursday, July 30
Tu B'Av — Wednesday, August 5
Leil Selichot — Saturday, Sept. 12
Rosh Hashanah — Saturday, Sept. 19 & Sunday, Sept. 20
Yom Kippur — Monday, Sept. 28
Sukkot — Saturday, Oct. 3 to Friday, Oct. 9
Shmini Atzeret — Saturday, Oct. 10
Simhat Torah — Sunday, Oct. 11
Chanukah — Friday, Dec. 11 to Friday, Dec. 18

Special Shabbatot:
Shabbat Chazon — Saturday, July 25
Shabbat Nachamu (Shabbat of Consolation) — Saturday, August 1
Shabbat Shuvah (Shabbat of Returning) — Saturday, Sept. 26

Modern holidays and fasts:
Fast of Tammuz — Thursday, July 9
Fast of Gedaliah — Monday, Sept. 21
Yom HaAliyah — Sunday, Oct. 25

Rosh Chodesh dates
Rosh Chodesh Tamuz — Monday, June 22
Rosh Chodesh Av — Wednesday, July 22
Rosh Chodesh Elul — Thursday, Aug 20
Rosh Chodesh Cheshvan — Sunday, Oct. 18
Rosh Chodesh Kislev — Tuesday, Nov. 17
Rosh Chodesh Tevet — Wednesday, Dec. 16